About the RIM Core Competencies, 2nd Ed.

    Records and information management (RIM) professionals at all stages of their career can use Records and Information Management Core Competencies, 2nd Ed. to identify their proficiency in each of six defined domains (i.e., categories of a RIM professional’s major responsibilities):

    1. Business Functions
    2. RIM/Information Governance Practices
    3. Risk Management
    4. Communications and Marketing
    5. Information Technology
    6. Leadership

    Each domain is composed of task statements and the knowledge and skills required to perform each task competently at four levels – from entry to executive level.

    This second edition, which replaces the original competencies ARMA International developed in 2007, has been updated to reflect the elevated skills RIM professionals now need to 1) meet significantly more challenging technology issues; and 2) assume a more proactive and collaborative role to ensure a strong RIM foundation for their organization's information governance program.

    At the organizational level, this publication is also ideal for managers and human resources professionals that need to craft job descriptions for RIM positions.

    Click here to download a copy of RIM Core Competencies, 2nd Ed. from the ARMA International bookstore.

    Note: This publication is free to ARMA International members. If you are not a member, you can learn more about this and many other benefits of membership by visiting the membership page or contacting our membership team for personal assistance. 

    © 2017, ARMA International